image desctription


Saketh Myneni

Top seeds breeze into semis at Bengaluru Open Wild Card tennis tourney

Pic 1: Mohit Mayur Jayaprakash of Tamil Nadu in action against second seed Dalwinder Singh in the semifinals of the Bengaluru Open Wild Card AITA ranking tennis tournament at the KSLTA on Friday.

Bengaluru, Oct 26: Top seed Suraj Prabodh of Karnataka quelled the challenge of statemate and third seed Prajwal SD Dev to take one more step closer to entering the main draw of the Bengaluru Open with a 6-3, 7-6 (2) victory in a semifinal tie of the Bengaluru Open Wild Card AITA ranking tennis tournament being played at the KSLTA here on Friday.

Suraj will clash with fourth seed Mohit Mayur Jayaprakash of Tamil Nadu in the title clash. Mayur recorded a minor upset when he overcame Dalwinder Singh of Punjab 6-3, 6-3. Meanwhile, the top seed duo of Prajwal SD Dev and Mohit Jayaprakash beat the pair of Suraj Prabodh and Dalwinder Singh 6-3, 6-4 to win the doubles crown.

It seemed to be a battle of equals with Suraj and Prajwal trading shot for shot and held their respective serves until the sixth game where Suraj broke his opponent’s serve to go 4-2 up. Although Suraj committed a couple of unforced errors, he managed to keep the game under control as he clinched the first set 6-3. In the second set, the battle grew even tenser with both the players holding on to their serves resulting in a tie-break where Suraj took advantage of Prajwal’s weak returns to win 7-2.

In the other semifinal which also promised an equal amount of an exciting encounter, both Mohit and Dalwinder went hammer and tongs until the former managed to achieve the all-important break in the eighth game to take a 5-3 lead and served out for the set. The second set followed a similar pattern until the sixth game after which the Punjabi complained of fatigue and his game started to wither as he lost his serve in the seventh and ninth games to handover a 6-3 win for Mohit.

Men’s Singles Semifinals

1-Suraj Prabodh (KA) bt 3-Prajwal SD Dev (KA) 6-3, 7-6 (2); 4-Mohit Mayur Jayaprakash (TN) bt 2-Dalwinder Singh (PB) 6-3, 6-3

Men’s Doubles Finals

1-Prajwal SD Dev / Mohit Jayaprakash bt Suraj Prabodh / Dalwinder Singh 6-3, 6-4

Saturday’s fixtures: Men’s Singles final:

1-Suraj Prabodh (KA) Vs. 4-Mohit Mayur Jayaprakash (TN) 6 p.m